Makowsky and Christ named to Team Canada for World Single Distances Speed Skating Championships

March 18, 2013

Lucas Makowsky and Kali Christ have both been named to Team Canada for the World Single Distances Speed Skating Championships.  Makowsky competed for Team Sask at the 2003 Canada Winter Games in Bathurst, NB and represented Canada at the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games, winning numerous medals and making us proud. Christ was on Team Sask for the 2007 Canada Winter Games in Whitehorse, YK.  Both of these amazing athletes are Olympic hopefuls for the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games.

Below is an article as written by Speed Skating Canada

Team Canada named for 2013 World Single Distances Speed Skating Championships

SOCHI, Russia
- Speed Skating Canada announced today the eight women and six men to represent Canada at the 2013 ISU World Single Distances Speed Skating Championships in Sochi, Russia, from March 21 to 24. The championships, taking place at the Adler Arena, are serving as a test event for the Sochi 2014 Olympics.

The women on the Canadian squad are as follows - distance(s) in brackets, not including team pursuit:
Ivanie Blondin of Ottawa (3000 m), Anastasia Bucsis of Calgary (500 m, 1000 m), Kali Christ of Regina (1500 m), Kaylin Irvine of Calgary (1000 m), Cindy Klassen of Winnipeg (3000 m, 5000 m), Christine Nesbitt of London, Ont. (500 m, 1000 m, 1500 m), Brittany Schussler of Winnipeg (1500 m, 3000 m), Danielle Wotherspoon Red Deer, Alta. (500 m).

The men on the Canadian team are as follows - distance(s) in brackets, not including team pursuit:
Jordan Belchos of Toronto (5000 m, 10000 m), Tyler Derraugh of Winnipeg (1000 m), Laurent Dubreuil of Lévis, Que. (500 m), Jamie Gregg of Edmonton (500 m, 1000 m), Gilmore Junio of Calgary (500 m, 1000 m) and Lucas Makowsky of Regina (1500 m).

The team includes 11 veteran skaters of the World Single Distances Championships. Derraugh, Junio and Wotherspoon are participating for the first time in this championship. Leading the 14-skater team is 1,000- and 1,500-metre defending world champion Christine Nesbitt. She also teamed-up last year with Klassen and Schussler to win gold in the team pursuit. Nesbitt was also the 1,000-metre champion in 2011 and Makowsky won a bronze medal in the 1,500 metres the same year.

From this season’s World Cup circuit, six of the 14 skaters collected 17 of the 19 medals. Including the medals won, this group had 49 Top 10 finishes throughout the nine World Cups.

The final ISU championship of the season opens Thursday, March 21 with the men’s 1,500 metres and women’s 3,000 metres. Friday, the men will skate the 1,000 and 5,000 metres, and the 1,500 metres for the women. The women have two races Saturday, the 1,000- and 5,000-metre distances, and the men have one race, the 10,000 metres. The season wraps-up Sunday with the two 500-metre races and team pursuit.

View All

Recent Photos

View All Photos »